EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT 17 207 N. Main St. – Ainsworth, NE 69210 February 9, 2021

Present: Lisa Chohon, Renee Adkisson, Roxie Lindquist, Duane Gudgel, Jody Dexter, Sue Weston, Jan Knispel, Jeff McQuistan, Geraldine Erickson and Jan Foster.

Absent: Jean Pinney

President Lisa Chohon called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m. The Open Meetings Act posting was acknowledged. The meeting notice was published on the ESU 17 website and on the front doors of ESU 17, Ainsworth Community Schools, Cody-Kilgore Unified School, Keya Paha County Schools, Rock County Public Schools, Valentine Community Schools and published in the Ainsworth Star Journal, Rock County Leader, Springview Herald and Valentine Midland News.

- 1. Jan Knispel made a motion to approve the agenda as printed. Renee Adkisson seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 2. A motion was made by Sue Weston and seconded by Roxie Lindquist to approve the absence of board member Jean Pinney. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 3. A motion to approve the minutes of the January 11, 2021 meeting was made by Jody Dexter. Duane Gudgel seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- The financial statement ending January 31, 2021 with a balance of \$1,792,851.63 was presented. Roxie Lindquist made a motion to approve the financial statement with a second from Sue Weston. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 5. The listing of bills and claims totaling \$346,666.34 was reviewed. Renee Adkisson made a motion and Jan Knispel seconded to approve payment of bills and claims. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 6. Geraldine attended a virtual Legislative Issues Conference on February 1. She included a summary of legislative bills and a presentation regarding school funding in the board packet.
- 7. ESUCC will continue to hold their meetings virtually through the end of April. Geraldine has received resignations from Susan Haskell and Rachel Williams effective May 17, 2021. She explained the change to Board Policy, Section 6 now requires board meeting notices to the public must by published in a newspaper of general circulation within the ESU 17 jurisdiction. Geraldine discussed two new ESU 17 staff members who will be filling positions in the nursing and speech departments and two new ESUCC staff members. New verification guidelines have been released for all disability categories
- 8. Jeff McQuistan gave a presentation on the Data Dig held on January 25. The format was a bit different this year. Jeff facilitated the meeting from his office with ESU 17 staff being onsite at our district schools. The SIMPL process is used to identify districts needs and priorities. MTSS (Multi-Tiered Systems of Support) continues to be an important focus. Cinde Wendell and Tyler Dahlgren, NCSA Ambassadors, promoted the Data Dig through Nebraska Love Public Schools.

- 9. The ESU 17 Board will continue to discuss and work on putting a process in place for determining non-certificated salaries beginning with 2022-2023 contracts.
- 10. Renee Adkisson made a motion to approve payment of bills in March in the absence or delay of a meeting. Duane Gudgel seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 11. A motion to approve the administrator contract with Geraldine Erickson for the 2021-2022 school year was made by Duane Gudgel and seconded by Jody Dexter. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 12. Duane Gudgel made a motion to approve a salary increase of 1.75% for the 2021-2022 contracts for non-certificated staff. Jan Knispel seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 13. A motion to approve the NASB membership was made by Jody Dexter and seconded by Jan Knispel. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 14. Jan Knispel made a motion to accept the resignation, with regret, of Susan Haskell. Sue Weston seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 15. A motion was made by Roxie Lindquist to accept Rachel Williams' resignation and wish her well at Ainsworth Community Schools. Jody Dexter seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 16. Renee Adkisson made a motion with a second from Duane Gudgel to approve the hire of Lori Clapper as a part-time nurse. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 17. Sue Weston made a motion to approve the hire of Elizabeth Wright as a speech language pathologist. Renee Adkisson seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 18. Renee Adkisson made a motion with a second from Jody Dexter to approve the hire of ESUCC staff, Trevor Paschall and Ryan Mueller. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- A motion to waive the second reading and approve the amendment to Board Policy, Section 6 was made by Jody Dexter and seconded by Jan Knispel. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 20. Jan Knispel made a motion to set the next meeting date on Monday, March 8, 2021, at 10:00 a.m. The meeting will be virtual. Duane Gudgel seconded the motion. Roll call vote was unanimous. Absent: Jean Pinney.
- 21. Roxie Lindquist made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:15 a.m.

Secretary